A few of the IASR 2017 Award Winners

A few of the IASR 2017 Award Winners

Best Student Manuscript Awards

2017: Malvina Skorska (supervised by Anthony Bogaert), Brock University, Pubertal stress and nutrition and their association with sexual orientation and height in the Add Health data

2016: Matt Bramble (supervised by Eric Vilain), University of California at Los Angeles, Sex-specific effects of testosterone on the sexually dimorphic transcriptome of embryonic neural stem/progenitor cells

2015: Jackie Huberman (supervised by Meredith Chivers), Queen's University, Different Devices, Same Story? Using Thermography and Plethysmography to Examine Gender-specificity of Sexual Response in Women and Men

2014: Daphne van de Bongardt (supervised by Ellen Reitz, Theo Sandfort, and Maja Deković), Utrecht University, Peer Norms and Adolescent Sexual (Risk) Behavior: A Meta-Analysis

2013: Jennifer Bossio (supervised by Meredith Chivers)

2012: Lelia Samson (supervised by Erick Janssen)

2011: Sabina Sarin (supervised by Irv Binik)

2010: Krystelle Shaughnessy (supervised by Sandi Byers)

2009: Doug VanderLaan (supervised by Paul Vasey)

2008: Amy Lykins (supervised by Marta Meana)

2007: Tuuli Kukkonen (supervised by Irv Binik)

Best Brief Communication Awards

2017: Sara Chadwick, University of Michigan, "Pornography: Women’s agentic strategies for avoiding negative affect and maintaining positive experiences"

2016: Laura Widman, North Carolina State University, "ProjectHeartForGirls.com: Acceptability and preliminary efficacy of an online HIV/STD prevention program for adolescent girls emphasizing sexual communication skills"

2015: Tierney Lorenz, Indiana University, "Sexual activity moderates shifts in Th1/Th2 cytokine profile across the ovarian cycle"

2014: Katy Goldey, University of Michigan, "Defining Pleasure: A Focus Group Study of Dyadic Sexual Pleasure in Queer and Heterosexual Women"

Best Junior Poster Awards

2017: Kaitlyn Goldsmith, University of New Brunswick, "Extending the relationship maintenance framework: Sexual maintenance behaviors in long-distance and geographically close relationships"

2016: Amelia Stanton, University of Texas at Austin, "Autogenic training increases subjective and physiological sexual arousal in sexually functional women"

2015: Morag Yule, University of British Columbia, "Masturbation and sexual fantasy among asexual individuals: An in depth exploration"

2014: Sara Jahnke, TU Dresden, "Challenging the Stigma Towards People with Pedophilia Among Psychotherapists in Training"

Best Senior Poster Awards

2017: Sophia Jawed-Wessel, University of Nebraska at Omaha, "Predictors of sexual satisfaction during pregnancy: A multi-level model describing the sexuality of couples in their first 12 weeks"

2016: Kateřina Klapilová, Charles University and National Institute of Mental Health, "Kamasutra in practice: The use of sexual positions by Czech and Slovak citizens and the association with female orgasms"

2015: Laura Baams, Utrecht University, "Puberty, popularity, and intimate relationships among early adolescents: Longitudinal findings in the Netherlands"

2014: Mayte Parada, McGill University, "A Pain in the Clitoris: A Systematic Description of Clitorodynia"

Student Research Development Awards (SRDA)


  • Mirte Brom (mentored by Stephanie Both), Leiden University Medical Centre
  • Lanna Petterson (mentored by Paul Vasey), University of Lethbridge


  • Samantha Dawson (mentored by Meredith Chivers), Queen's University
  • Kathryn Rancourt, Dalhousie University
  • David Lick, New York University
  • Kevin Hsu, Northwestern University


  • Amber Craig (mentored by Julia Heiman), Indiana University
  • Francisco Gómez (mentored by Paul Vasey), University of Lethbridge


  • Amelia Stanton (mentored by Cindy Meston), University of Texas at Austin
  • Scott Semenyna (mentored by Paul Vasey), University of Lethbridge

Richard Green Founding President Annual Presentation Award

2017: C. Sue Carter, The Kinsey Institute, "The developmental effects of oxytocin: A love story"

2016: Afsaneh Najmabadi, Harvard University, "Verdicts of science and rulings of faith: What can we learn from transsexuality in Iran?"

Richard Green Lifetime Achievement Award

2017: Ray Blanchard, University of Toronto

2016: Richard Green, IASR Founding President and Founding Editor of the Archives of Sexual Behavior